Autocross News

The NCR Solo Program will be having its own small awards banquet on November 24th in Wilmington. We do this separate because it allows us to give out the large number of autocross season awards, which there just simply isn’t time for at the Annual Awards Banquet in January. We will still have our Driver(s) and Worker of the Year awards to present at the Annual Awards Banquet and we encourage everyone to attend both events.

The Solo Banquet will be on November 24th from 11am – 3pm at the Front Street Brewery Beam Room in Wilmington. The price for the banquet is $15 per person, $7 per child. You can register on MotorsportReg and there is a Facebook group. There will be brunch food and a cash bar. Parking is available either on the street around the restaurant or in one of the Downtown Wilmington parking decks. The event Facebook group and the registration site both have the full menu listed. Registration will be open until November 17th. Please register by then, so we can give our numbers to the restaurant for food.

2019 Tire Rack Solo Nationals

The 47th running of the Tire Rack Solo Nationals took place in Lincoln, Nebraska in September. Twenty four drivers from NCR competed and Jennifer Bedel of Hillsborough came away with her 4th National Championship. She won the Solo Spec Coupe Ladies category with a margin of victory of 0.832 seconds! Finishing second in their classes were Stephanie Humphries in C Street Prepared Ladies, Chris Peterson in Solo Spec Coupe Ladies and Trisha Feeney in F Modified Ladies. Congratulations Ladies! Click on the links to see a breakdown of all the winners in the First Set and Second Set results.

NCR’s Anthony Seaber is the new Formula Mazda National Champion

In a rain-soaked race at VIR for the 2019 SCCA National Championship Runoffs, NCR’s own Anthony Seaber of Hillsboro, North Carolina, narrowly defeated NCR’s other well-known Formula Mazda driver, Robert Noell of Kure Beach for the win, and became the Formula Mazda National Champion for 2019.

Read more here:

NCR’s Broderick Bauguess is the new Touring 3 National Champion

At his first-ever appearance at the Runoffs, Broderick Bauguess swapped the lead 6 times with the defending National Champion  Marshall Mast, and set a new track record before claiming his title!

Read more here

Heather Clark Awarded National F&C Worker of the Year at VIR Runoffs

Heather Clark, NCR Co-Flag Chief, and BoD Member-at-Large has been awarded the National Flagging & Communication Worker of the Year at the VIR Runoffs.

The SCCA press release stated, “The Flagging and Communications Worker of the Year is North Carolina Region’s Heather Clark. During her service to the SCCA Clark has served on the Region board, been Flag Chief and Assistant Chief for the last three years, and her experience and attitude has earned her the respect of fellow workers and drivers as she took on the role of a teacher and leader.”

Congratulations Heather! A well-deserved award!