The annual meeting of the North Carolina Region was held in conjunction with the 2013 Awards Dinner at Caffé Luna in Raleigh, on January 11th. About a hundred members attended and the festivities were in high gear. Just as last year, the food was excellent and the first order of business was to thank Bibi Tucker Harrison, wife of outgoing Member-at-Large Neal Harrison, for having arranged everything. A “banquet committee” of one, she did another outstanding job. Many thanks to Bibi!

Read More


Before we began with our awards to our volunteers, who have gone above and beyond this year, we pointed out the North Carolina Region members lauded for the many days of service in the December issue of SportsCar?

Treasurer and Steward Steve Keadle topped the list with over 30 days, followed by Member-at-Large and Steward Wayne Quick, with over 20 days. Wayne’s wife and Chief of Sound Control for our events, Jean Quick volunteered between 12 and 19 days at the track, as did our Chief Starter James Buckberry, and one of our Flag Chiefs, Mark Biamonte. Awesome folks! Hat’s off to you all!

Except where noted, the following awards were presented by the emcee, Ed Wentz)

Read More

The ballots have been t abulated and the results are:

Regional Executive – Rex Deffenbaugh, re-elected for a 3rd term

Secretary – Steve Rose

Members-at-Large – Heather Powers and Blair Stitt

There were 183 valid ballots returned. That’s just over 25% of the membership. 

Congratulations to the winners!

Read More