Road Racing Rules

Rules for Series and Classes hosted at NCR events.

Technical questions may be directed to NC Region Chief of Tech, Chis Shimmel 919-644-1334 or

The 2020 General Competition Rules (GCR) is here.

Click this link to go to the Cars and Rules page on

Cars and Rules is your home to view the current GCR, Fastrack, Recommended Rule Changes, Race Memo’s and Member advisories. The content on this page will provide valuable information for Road Racing compliance in the SCCA.

To request a new car classification, adjustment or clarification on a rule, click on the link below to submit a letter:

Send a Request to the Club Racing Board


Jim Creighton, SARRC

The SARRC series is the most successful regional race series in all of SCCA. Each year, the series has 25 races and over 4000 total entries. SARRC stands for the South Atlantic Road Racing Championship. The final SARRC race of the race season is at Roebling Road in October and is called the SIC or SARRC Invitational Challenge. As the name implies, this is an invitation only race. In order to be invited, a driver must enter three regular season SARRC races. Drivers may count their points for their best six regular season races toward the SARRC Championship. In addition, the points earned at the SIC count double and are added to the best six regular season races.


Carol Cone, ECR Administrator

The purpose of the ECR Series is to provide and organize a regional endurance race series for the drivers of the Southeast Division.

SEDiv website link for ECR info

TARHEEL CUP PRO SERIES (TCPS)tcps-logo-black-300dpi

Sam Fouse, TCS Administrator

(revised 1/21/15)

The Tarheel Cup Pro Series (hereafter known as TCPS) is a regional points series conducted by the North Carolina Region (NCR) of the Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) and any other region(s) in the SEDiv. of SCCA which requests the right to include a TCPS regional race in their own region’s race calendar, which request receives the prior approval of the BoD of the NCR and the TCPS Committee.


Rich Mesick, APC Administrator

Atlantic Pro Cup is a replacement for the Carolina Cup Pro Series.

The series is designed to promote fun, hassle free racing with a professional atmosphere.

APC is a points-based, team series, with cash awards for top finishers in each race and a cumulative cash prize for the overall points winner at the end the season.

APC races are all 45 minutes in length with a mandatory 2 minute pit-stop. Many teams opt to run one driver per race, however rules allow for a driver swap allowing more drivers to participate and gain valuable seat time.

V8 Road Racing Series

V8RRS Series Administrator, Butch Kumer

V8RRS is a program for those that want to compete using big American V8’s in road racing events.  This program builds upon the very successful V8 Stock Car series that targeted specific events to provide enhanced competition in the Big Bore classes, but V8RRS expands the concept even further.

Mid Atlantic Road Racing Series (MARRS)

MARRS is administered by the Washington DC Region. The link to the right will take you to their Road Racing page.

The following list of rule sets are documents we have received from various series. Some may not be current, but we will update them when available. Where possible, the series website or series administrator’s email has been provided so you can check for updates or if you have questions.

2020 SEDiv Regional Class Rules  Jim Creighton, SARRC Administrator – – SEDiv website

Atlanta Region ITT RulesAtlanta Region website

Atlanta Region ITX RulesAtlanta Region website

Right Coast Formula F Series Rules

2018 SSM Rules – WDCR website

2016 NEDiv Club Ford RulesNEDiv website

Mazda Spec MX-5 Rules  –  Spec MX-5 website

IT-7R Class rules

Sports R Regional Class (SR)

Club Formula Continental (CFC)

The following Regional Optional Classes are covered at:

  • GT Pinto
  • ITE
  • SPO
  • SPU
  • SRX7
  • SSM
  • Club Ford
  • Bracket Improved Touring (aka Sprint Bracket Road Racing)